Hobbes Doll

Hobbes_1Hobbes_3Hobbes_2

As a shorter filler project, I was inspired to crochet a Hobbes doll, as inspired by Bill Watterson’s character from Calvin and Hobbes:

Hobbes2

I thought it would be fun to make the stuffed animal version, rather than the living tiger from Calvin’s imagination (not to mention it would be much simpler as an amigurumi project). I started with the pattern I found here, but edited it as I went along,  making my version in a sitting position and with thinner stripes.

I have to say, this seemed like a simple project when I started, but making the thin tube for the tail was really not my cup of tea. If I made it again, I would probably try to make the tail have a curve in it as part of the pattern because the way it sticks straight out strikes me as a bit awkward. Everything else went smoothly, though lining things up took some patience. Overall, though, I’d say it turned out pretty well! 

“We’re so busy watching out for what’s just ahead of us that we don’t take time to enjoy where we are.” -Calvin

  • Uncategorized

Leave a comment