Global Good Night Blanket

20190916_201642.jpg

*Contact me here or on Etsy if you’re interested in buying this pattern!

This was a fantastic project, and by far the most personal one I’ve done. 32 pieces, 30 flags, 26 languages. Initially, I knew I wanted to do something with the world as the theme, but I didn’t want to do a map, because I didn’t want to have to focus on any one part of the world. Then I had the idea to use flags, but how could I narrow down all the possible flags in the world to actually make something a reasonable size? So I made myself a rule that I could only use a flag if I knew someone who had a connection to that place (as in lived there, had family from there, etc) and that person had to tell me how to write “Good night” as they would say it there, no Google Translate. There are some fun caveats with this strategy, since my friends wouldn’t necessarily speak the language of the majority, and sometimes the specific phrase “Good night” isn’t in the common language.  So the languages represented here are not necessarily the official languages or the most common languages, but they’re the languages that my friends use, and that’s what makes this blanket awesome.

The finished piece measures ~6 feet (185 cm) wide x 6.5 feet (200 cm) tall. Each flag was individually double crocheted, then everything was whip-stitched together.

Some things I learned:

Even with the width of every piece planned out, I was struggling to make the edge line up during final assembly. I always ended up one or two stitches off. Basically, just expect to screw up the stitches and redo them if you’re doing something big with pieces of unequal length.

Flags really like the colors red and green. I was trying so hard not to have the same colors border each other but it was impossible, I just had to cut my losses. Meanwhile, Argentina, Greece, Israel, and Kazakhstan, keep doing you.

And since you’re wondering, here’s the full flag/language list, from left to right, top to bottom:

Hungary (Hungarian) – United States (English) – Italy (Italian)

Switzerland (French) – India (Telugu) – Myanmar (English)

Kazakhstan (Kazakh) – Taiwan (Chinese) – Saudi Arabia (Arabic)

Iran (Farsi) – Japan (Japanese) – Spain (Spanish)

India (Kutchi) – Belgium (French) – Greece (Greek) – Bulgaria (Bulgarian)

Thailand (Thai) – Pakistan (Urdu) – Argentina (Spanish)

Mexico (Spanish) – South Korea (Korean) – Vietnam (Vietnamese) – Israel (Hebrew)

China (Chinese) – Ethiopia (Kafa No’no) – Germany (German)

Russia (Russian) – India (Hindi) – Peru (Spanish)

Nigeria (Yoruba) – Philippines (Tagalog) – Bangladesh (Bengali)

That’s all for now! If you have any questions about the project, feel free to comment here or reach out on Instagram (@createmarvelous). I’m not planning to upload the patterns, but if that is of interest to you, just let me know.

“The beauty of the world lies in the diversity of its people” -Unknown

Leave a comment