Pokémon Blanket

Pokemon Blanket

*Edit: Pattern available here!

In honor of the 20th anniversary of Pokémon this year, this blanket felt like a must-do. Measuring in at a whopping 48 x 65 inches, this one was actually incredibly quick to make (for me). I started it last November, so it only took 4-5 months, as opposed to my usual ~8.

Unfortunately, I did not magically get a lot faster at my crochet (boy, that would be nice). Instead, I used double crochet through the whole thing instead of single, and made each pixel 2 double crochets wide and 1 double crochet tall. So each individual Pokémon ‘square’ is 110 stitches wide and 55 tall. They’re still pretty distorted, since two dcs are wider than they are tall, but it’s not too bad. Still gunning for that ultimate dream of no distortion. One day. Here’s a closeup of Bulbasaur’s face so you can see the distortion and the stitching a bit better:

Bulbasaur's Face

Another thing I have to mention is that this blanket came out quite a bit bigger than I was expecting. I had been planning on putting a border and more fun stuff on it, but once the four pieces were done, I realized anything more would just be beyond overkill and would make the thing absolutely massive. I was going to try fringes, but I started doing them and thought they didn’t add anything. So unless I come up with something better later on, it’ll stay like this. It’s pretty simple, but I think the bright colors make up for it.

Overall, a fun project with reasonably small patterns (I did simplify the colors; mainly I took out all of the shadowing, which made life much easier). As always, let me know if you have any questions or comments below!

“We do have a lot in common. The same Earth, the same air, the same sky. Maybe if we started looking at what’s the same instead of always looking at what’s different…well, who knows?” -Meowth

3 thoughts on “Pokémon Blanket

  1. Hey!
    Can you tell me what type of yarn you used for this?
    Im fairly new to crochet, but i want to give it a go, so just double checking the pattern- would it be a starting chain of double the amount of squares in the pattern plus 3?the plus 3 being your first double crochet? And then 2 double crochets per square of pattern, turning work each row?
    I really love the finish on them, and cant wait to get started!
    Thanks for such a brilliant blog!!

    1. Of course! I mainly used a combination of Red Heart Super Saver and Caron One Pound yarn, since they’re both cheap and have nice bright colors. If I remember exactly:

      Bulbasaur used Kelly Green from Caron (background), Jade from Red Heart (spots), Spring Green from Red Heart (bulb), Hunter Green from Red Heart (lines on bulb), Cherry Red from Red Heart (eyes, mouth). The blue for the body was a turqoise from Craftsmart, just the generic Michael’s brand. Black and white could have been from either brand, I’m not sure and it doesn’t really matter.

      Charmander used Carrot from Red Heart (background), Pumpkin from Red Heart (body), Lace from Caron (stomach), Bright Yellow from Red Heart (fire), Cherry Red from Red Heart (mouth, fire), Jade from Red Heart (eyes), plus black and white.

      Pikachu used Sunflower from Caron (background), Bright Yellow from Red Heart (body), Cherry Red from Red Heart (cheeks, mouth), plus black and white.

      Squirtle used Royal from Red Heart (background), Turqoise from Craftsmart (body), Lace from Caron (stomach), Cherry Red from Red Heart (mouth), plus black and white. The brown on the shell, stomach, and eyes I think was just something I had lying around from who knows when, so I have no idea what brand that was, but I recommend Coffee from Red Heart.

      To answer the other questions, yes! Double the squares in the pattern, then add your first double crochet (I think I personally add two chains for the first double crochet, but both two and three work fine), so a total of either 112 or 113 in the starting chain, and two double crochets per pattern square, turning each row.

      I’m so glad you like my blog! Best of luck on this project, I’d love to see a photo when you’re done!

Leave a Reply

